The Phone Call Girls

Months after the arrests of the WM3, a group of girls often nicknamed “The Phone Call Girls”, stated that they could alibi two of them. On the night of May 5, 1993; Heather Cliett, Holly George, and Jennifer Bearden would all struggle through-out the day to get a hold of Jason Baldwin and Damien Echols.

It would begin with Heather Cliett stating that her, Holly, and Jennifer had been on the phone in a three-way call on the night of the murders, and had talked to Damien around 10 or 10:30 that night.

She gave these statements on June 7th and 8th, right after the arrests.

On September 10th, in a statement taken about 5 months after the day in question, Holly George claimed she called Damien around 3:30 p.m.

INVESTIGATIVE REPORT
TRIPLE HOMICIDE
BYERS/BRANCH/MOORE

ON 091093, I DETECTIVE B. RIDGE WENT TO THE RESIDENCE OF HOLLIE GEORGE IN BARTLETT, TENNESSE. I HAD FOUND THAT HOLLIE HAD BEEN ON THE TELEPHONE WITH DAMIEN ECHOLS ON THE DAY OF THE ABOVE NOTED HOMICIDE. IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT SHE HAD TALKED WITH DAMIEN ON THE TELEPHONE AT ABOUT 3:30 PM. SHE REPORTED THAT SHE HAD KNOWN DAMIEN FOR ABOUT A WEEK PRIOR TO THE TELEPHONE CALL. SHE INFORMED ME THAT SHE WAS AWARE OF JENNIFER BEARDEN HAVING CALLED DAMIEN AND TALKED WITH HIM DURING PERIODS OF TIME ON THAT SAME DAY. HOLLIE ALSO STATED THAT SHE HAD CALLED JASON ON THE SAME DAY. A TAPED INTERVIEW WAS CONDUCTED AS TO THE FACTS THAT SHE RELAYED TO ME WITH HER MOTHER BEING PRESENT ALONG WITH DETECTIVE BILL DURHAM, AND THE FIANCE OF HOLLIES’S MOTHER.

DETECTIVE B. RIDGE
WEST MEMPHIS POLICE DEPARTMENT

http://callahan.8k.com/wm3/hollygreport.html

Holly had also tried to reach Jason Baldwin that day, with no luck either.

At somewhere between 4:30 and 5 p.m. Heather had called her boyfriend Jason’s house, with no answer. According to her the phone rang about 8 times.

Jennifer Bearden in a statement also taken on September 10, 1993 would claim to remember talking to both Damien and Jason several times on May 5th.

INVESTIGATIVE REPORT
TRIPLE HOMICIDE
BYERS/BRANCH/MOORE

ON 091093, I MET WITH JENNIFER BEARDEN AT HER RESIDENCE IN BARTLETT, TENNESSEE. THE INTERVIEW WAS A RESULT OF HAVING OBTAINED INFORMATION THAT SHE HAD BEEN ON THE PHONE WITH DAMIEN ON THE DAY OF THE HOMICIDE. SHE INFORMED ME OF SEVERAL TIMES WHEN SHE HAD BEEN ON THE PHONE WITH DAMIEN AND JASON DURING THE AFTERNOON AFTER SCHOOL AND UNTIL ABOUT 9:30 PM ON THE EVENING OF 050593. SHE GAVE A TAPED STATEMENT OF THE EVENTS THAT OCCURRED ON THAT EVENING.

http://callahan.8k.com/wm3/jenbreport.html

Her statement would both contradict George’s and Cliett’s as well as Jason’s uncle who was claiming that Jason mowed his lawn that day between 4:30 and 6:30.

She first placed herself and Holly on the phone with Damien in a three way call. Then Holly hung-up and the three stopped talking. So, Jennifer called Damien back, and the two talked a bit more.

Jennifer: We weren’t talking about much we were just talking about you know if we were going to the skating rink this weekend, that weekend, and um, and Holly had to get off the phone, because her mom needed to use it. And um, I said Damien I’ll call you right back, she said, he said okay, and so he hang up, and um call, and I called him back. And we talked for a little bit, and he goes can you call me back, I’m going to Jason’s, he said call me in about 30 minutes, and I said okay. I called him back in about 30 minutes at Jason’s.

Ridge: And about what time was that call you made to Jason’s?

Jennifer: Between, it had to be some where in between 4:15 and 5, something like that 5, 5:30.

Ridge: Who answered the phone at Jason’s?

Jennifer: Jason.

Ridge: And did you talk to Damien?

Jennifer: Yeah, I talked to Jason about 5 minutes and the (inaudible) with Damien and he really wasn’t talking, because they were playing video games with his little brother Matt.

This statement directly contradicts both Holly and Heather, who were unable to get a hold of Jason during this time period. Jason’s uncle Hurbert Bartoush would also say the following…

STATEMENT OF: Hubert B. Bartoush DATE: PAGE:
1037 Park W. Mphs.
DOB: 10-3-29 S/R [omitted]

On 5-5-93 Jason Baldwin, my Grand Nephew, came to my house at about 4:30 PM and mowed my yard. He was alone when he was at my house. He left my house at about 6:30 PM and said he was going to Walmart to play video games. I remember the times because Jeopardy was coming on when he got here and Wheel of Fortune was coming on when he left.

I have written this statement consisting of 1 page[s], and I affirm to the truth and accuracy of the facts contained therein.

This statement was completed at 1:56 PM., on the 14 day of June 1993.

WITNESS: Det. B. Ridge
Hubert B. Bartoush
WITNESS: Signature of person giving voluntary statement

How could he be at his uncle’s mowing the lawn and talking to Jennifer at the same time? Someone has to be wrong there,  either Jennifer, his uncle, or both.

Ridge: Okay, and after that conversation you with him.

Jennifer: He said him and Jason were going to go some where, him and Jason were going some where and that he um, wanted me to call him later at his house around 8 and I said okay.

Ridge: Okay, did he say where he was going to go?

Jennifer: No.

So, she claimed that he told her to call him back at around 8 p.m.


This is Hollie George’s account of the three way call.
RIDGE: OKAY, ABOUT WHAT TIME THAT DAY WERE YOU ON THE PHONE THE FIRST TIME WITH DAMIEN?

HOLLY: ABOUT 3:30

RIDGE: ABOUT 3:30, THAT’S AFTER YOU HAD GOTTEN OUT OF SCHOOL? OKAY, WHO WAS ON THE PHONE WITH YOU?

HOLLY: JENNIFER BEARDEN AND DAMIEN

RIDGE: SO IT WAS A THREE WAY PHONE

HOLLY: UM UM (YES)

RIDGE: OKAY, DID YOU CALL ANYBODY ELSE THAT DAY?

HOLLY: THAT DAY ANYBODY?

RIDGE: YEA

HOLLY: YEA, MY FRIENDS

RIDGE: OKAY, DID YOU CALL ANYBODY IN WEST MEMPHIS THAT DAY?

HOLLY: I DON’T THINK SO

RIDGE: OKAY

HOLLY: BESIDE DAMIEN AND I CALLED JASON (ILLEGIBLE) ANSWERED OR ANYTHING

RIDGE: OKAY, WHAT TIME DID YOU CALL JASON

HOLLY: OH, I DON’T KNOW, IT WAS AFTER I TALKED TO DAMIEN OR SO

RIDGE: SO SOMETIME AFTER 3:30 YOU TRIED TO CALL JASON AND COULDN’R GET AN ANSWER?

HOLLY: (INAUDIBLE)

RIDGE: OKAY, AT 3:30 WHEN YOU CALLED FOR DAMIEN WAS HE THERE?

HOLLY: UM UM (YES)

RIDGE: DID HE ANSWER THE PHONE OR DID SOMEONE ELSE PHONE AND HE COME TO THE PHONE?

HOLLY: I THINK HE ANSWERED THE PHONE

Holly George gave a further breakdown of that night.

Holly would insist that she only spoke with Damien once that night, and never talked with anyone else. She was stating that she was told by Jennifer Bearden later on that she called Damien back at 9 p.m.

RIDGE: SINCE THAT TIME HAVE YOU FOUND OUT ANYBODY ELSE THAT TALKED TO DAMIEN ON THE TELEPHONE THAT DAY?

HOLLY: NO, BESIDES JENNIFER BEARDEN AND

RIDGE: SHE HAD TOLD YOU SHE CALLED HIM AFTER

HOLLY: AFTER I HAD TALKED TO HIM AND HER EARLIER

RIDGE: OK DO YOU KNOW WHEN SHE CALLED HIM?

HOLLY: LIKE RIGHT AFTER I GOT OFF THE PHONE WITH HER AND THEY TALKED FOR A WHILE AND THEN THEY HANG UP (ILLEGIBLE) JENNIFER HAD TO GET OFF THE PHONE AND THEN SHE CALLED BACK LIKE AT 9 O’CLOCK OR SO

RIDGE: SHE CALLED BACK AT ABOUT 9?

HOLLY: (INAUDIBLE)

RIDGE: DID SHE TELL YOU WHAT THEY TALKED ABOUT?

HOLLY: UN UN (NO)

RIDGE: OKAY, DID SHE SAY THAT SHE HAD TRIED TO CALL HIM THAT EVENING AND COULDN’T GET HIM?

HOLLY: SHE SAID SHE TRIED ONCE COULDN’T GET A HOLD OF HIM BECAUSE NOBODY ANSWERED

RIDGE: ABOUT WHAT TIME WAS THAT DO YOU KNOW?

HOLLY: UN UN (NO) I FORGOT

RIDGE: BUT SHE TOLD YOU ABOUT IT OKAY, UM, DO YOU REMEMBER TALKING WITH HEATHER CLIETT THAT DAY?

HOLLY: THAT DAY NO

RIDGE: YOU DIDN’T TALK WITH HER AT ALL?

HOLLY: (INAUDIBLE)

RIDGE: DO YOU KNOW WHAT HEATHER’S PHONE NUMBER IS?

HOLLY: YEA, I THINK IT’S UPSTAIRS IN MY BEDROOM BUT I DON’T KNOW IT

RIDGE: YOU DO HAVE IT WRITTEN DOWN SOMEEWHERE? WHERE DID YOU MEET HEATHER?

HOLLY: SKATING RINK

RIDGE: OKAY…OKAY DO YOU DAMIEN’S PHONE NUMBER?

HOLLY: IT’S UPSTAIRS

RIDGE: YOU DON’T KNOW IT IN MEMORY?

HOLLY: UN UN (NO)

RIDGE: OKAY HOW ABOUT JASON’S?

HOLLY: (INAUDIBLE) NO I HAD IT BUT I DON’T HAVE IT NO MORE

RIDGE: OKAY, DO ARE, DO YOU NORMALLY WRITE YOUR PHONE NUMBERS DOWN THAT, PEOPLE YOU CALL OR DO YOU JUST HAVE SOME NUMBERS YOU JUST KNOW IN YOUR HEAD?

HOLLY: I HAVE SOME NUMBERS I KNEW IN MY HEAD, BUT THEIR ALL WRITTEN DOWN

RIDGE: OKAY, DID YOU EVER KNOW THEIR NUMBERS?

HOLLY: YEAH, I KNEW, I KNEW THEM AND THAT’S WHY I DIDN’T WRITE JASON’S DOWN, BECAUSE I KNEW IT

RIDGE: YEA

HOLLY: AND THEN I WENT TO WRITE IT DOWN AND I DIDN’T KNOW IT, BUT I KNEW DAMIEN’S SO I WROTE IT DOWN

RIDGE: OKAY, SO YoU TRIED TO CALL JASON THAT DAY AND YOU COULDN’T ANSWER AND THAT WAS SHORTLY AFTER YOU HAD TALKED TO DAMIEN ABOUT 3:30, AND YOU WERE ONLY ON THE PHONE WITH DAMIEN ABOUT 5 MINUTES THAT DAY, IS THAT RIGHT?

HOLLY: UM UM (YES)

RIDGE: UH, WHEN’S THE NEXT TIME AFTER THE PHONE CALLS THAT YOU SAW DAMIEN AGAIN?

HOLLY: LATE THAT FRIDAY NIGHT

Heather Cliett however gave a drasticlly different account of May 5th in this undated statement.

“Later that evening I received a call from a girl that I know as Hollie who lives in Bartlett, Tennessee and has a friend named Jenifer who also lives in Tennessee. I had met Hollie and Jenifer at the skating rink in West Memphis a few months before. Hollie must have a 3 party line because when she called me Jenefer was on the phone with her. Hollie called me at about 9:00 PM and I stayed on the phone with her until about 10:30 PM. After a while Jenifer got off of the phone. At about 10:00 PM Hollie called Damien at his humber that I belive is 732-4018 and Damien’s mother got on the phone and said something to the effect that she didn’t want young girls to be calling Damien at 10:00 at night. Damien got the phone away from his mom and he told Hollie to call back in a few minutes.

Hollie called back while I was still on the phone at about 10:15 or 10:30 PM and Damien got on the phone. They were talking between themselves and began talking about how Damien wanted to get together with Jenifer. I listened to them for a few minutes and said that I had to go.

On Friday I saw Jason at the skating rink and I only said Hi to him on that day. I called Jason on Saturday and asked him where he was on Wednesday and he told me that he was at his uncle’s house mowing his yard.

on Friday 050793 I talked to Hollie at the skating rink and I asked her where Damien had been on Wednesday when they were trying to call him and she stated that Damien had been out walking in the neighborhood. She stated that Damien was trying to get a date with Jenifer. I assume that the neighborhood she was talking about was around Ingram street. Hollie is a friend of Damien and she was helping to get Jenifer and Damien together.”

Now Heather says, that they eventually got a hold of Damien later that night, and they talked on a three way call first with her, Jennifer, and Holly. Jennifer got on the phone and talked to them around 9. And Damien didn’t get on the phone till some time after 10. She said that she sat on the line and listend as Holly call Damien after Jennifer left. And Heather states that Holly may have finally gotten Damien on the phone at about 10-10:30.

http://callahan.8k.com/images/heather_cliett/statement_01.jpg

Holly in a Sept 22 interview would repeat that she only talked to Damien once that night, and they didn’t talk again.

RIDGE- NORTH STREET IN BARTLETT, TENNESSEE. OKAY, HOLLIE THE QUESTIONS I NEED TO ASK YOU TODAY …WE’VE ALREADY TALKED ONCE, UH, A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO, AND HOW MANY TIMES DID YOU TALK TO DAMION ON THE 5TH OF MAY.

HOLLIE- ABOUT ONCE.

RIDGE- ONE TIME. AND WHAT TIME WAS THAT PHONE CONVERSATION?

HOLLIE- ABOUT 3 OR 4.

RIDGE- ABOUT WHAT TIME WOULD THAT BE?

HOLLIE- ABOUT 3:30 OR 4:00, SOMETHING LIKE THAT.

RIDGE- OKAY, AND WAS THAT A THREE-WAY CONVERSATION?

HOLLIE- UH HUH.

RIDGE- AND WHO WAS ON THE PHONE?

HOLLIE- JENNIFER, DAMION AND ME.

RIDGE- OKAY. DID YOU CALL DAMION, OR DID HE CALL YOU/

HOLLIE- I CALLED DAMION.

RIDGE- OKAY. DURING THE REST OF THAT DAY, DID YOU TALK TO DAMION AGAIN ON THE TELEPHONE.

HOLLIE- UH UH.

RIDGE- OKAY. DO YOU KNOW IF JENNIFER TALKED TO HIM AGAIN ON THE TELEPHONE?

HOLLIE- SHE SAID SHE TALKED TO HIM AT LIKE 9:00 THAT NIGHT.

So, she says there was no three way call that night, contradicting Heather’s assertion of the day’s events. Heather’s version of events however pre-date both Holly’s and Jennifer’s by about 3 months, making her memories of the day the closest to the actual day in question.

On June 7th, 1993 Heather was interviewed by police:

Heather states that Jason Baldwin has been her boyfriend for 1 month.

States that on 5-5-93 at about 4:30 p.m. or 5:00 p.m. she tried to call Jason at his house stats that there was no answer. Stats that she called again at about 5:30 p.m. or 6:00 p.m.– states that the phone was busy at that time and she did not try again. Stats that she did not see or talk to him again until that Friday night at the skating rink. He was there with Damien and Jesse. Stats that she just said hi to him– nothing else. That Saturday around 11:00 a.m. she called Jason on the phone — states that she told him that she tried to call him on Wednesday — he told her that he had to go and mow his uncles yard.

http://callahan.8k.com/wm3/img/heatherc1.html

Heather would also make this statement on June 8th.

“I have known Jason Baldwin for 1 1/2 months. He has been my boyfriend for 1 month. On May 5th, 93 I tried to call him around 4:30 pm/ 5:00 pm, there was no answer. Later, around 6:15 pm I tried & it was busy. I didn’t try again! around 9:00 pm I was talking to a friend from Bartlett (Hollie), we tried to get a hold of Michael Wayne “Damien” Echols from then until around 10:30 pm, when we finally got in touch w/him! I didn’t really get to talk to him, aside from “Hi”, then him & Hollie started talking about Jennifer, (Damien’s other girlfriend) so I let them go! Hollie & Jennifer’s last names are unavailable to me. The next day Hollie told me that “Damien” said he had just been out walking around. She also told me that “Damien” & her were talking about, & trying to get him & Jennifer together. May 7th, 93, when I spoke to Jason, I ask him where he was on the 5th, he said he was mowing his uncle’s yard. I’ve been at several places w/Jason, & he’s been at my home, as well as me being at his, & he has never mentioned anything to me or who we were around about the murders.

I met Hollie & Jennifer at the skating rink. I have not asked for or been given either number. I will, if I see Hollie or Jennifer, try to get their numbers.”

http://callahan.8k.com/wm3/img/hcstatement.html

In this earlier account she’s more vague on the times and they get Damien on the phone closer to 10:30 that night, and Bearden doesn’t talk to Damien in a three-way call, and possibly may not have talked to him that night.

Now Jennifer Bearden would claim that she didn’t talk to Damien until around 9; 9:20, or possibly even 9:30. However if Cliett’s  accounts are true then at the time she was supposedly talking to Damien, she was actually talking with Heather and Holly.

Ridge: Okay, and when you called back about 8?

Jennifer: His grandmother said he wasn’t there, and I was suppose to call back around 9, and I called back around 9:20, 9:30 and I talk to him for a little bit, but then I had to get off the phone, because I wasn’t suppose to be on the phone after 9:30.

Ridge: So you have curfew of when your suppose to be on the telephone and when you have to be off it, that’s a school night? Okay, um, where did you first meet Damien?

She then insisted that she called Damien around 8, and spoke to his grandmother, who told her to call back around 9, and at some time possibly around 9:30 she finally gets a hold of him.

She would also deny taking part in the three-way call which Heather stated that she was part of prior to getting a hold of Damien.

Ridge: Okay, alright, is there anything else about the phone calls that were made on that evening that just stuck’s out to you?

Jennifer: Un Un (No)

Ridge: That we haven’t covered, we have pretty will covered that evening, did you talk to anybody else during that period of time?

Jennifer: I really don’t remember, I think I talked to Holly a little bit, I don’t remember who else I may have talked to, I think mostly I talked to Holly, Damien, Jason.

Ridge: Okay, well when Heather says she talked to you and Holly on the 3 way that evening is that just totally untrue? Or do you think she is just mistaking about the date?

Jennifer: She is probably mistaking, because I really don’t remember talking to her.

Ridge: On that date?

Jennifer: I don’t remember talking to her.

Ridge: How about

Jennifer: I don’t believe that me, Holly, Heather have ever been on the phone 3 way.

Ridge: What’s the reason basically?

Jennifer: Because Heather likes Jason, or like Jason, but Jason had liked Holly, but Holly was going out with somebody else, but she didn’t like Jason only as a friend. That’s why Heather and Holly never got along.

It seems very possible that since Holly and Jennifer were close friends, and had given statements months after Heather’s that they had influenced each other’s memory of the day. Jennifer also claims that Heather would never talk to Holly, and must be mistaken on the date. But even if she were mistaken about the day of the call, clearly Heather and Holly were friends and talked to each other, contrary to Bearden’s assertions, as she knew that Holly had three way calling.

In a 2004 affidavit, Bearden stated that she lied to the police about the time her phone call with Damien occurred.

“I understand that I told officers that I called Damien back at around 9:20 p.m. or 9:30 p.m., so I explained that I called him no later than 9:30 p.m. But my belief is that the phone call lasted past 9:30 p.m. I was supposed to have been in bed by 10:00 p.m. I was concerned that if my mother learned that I had been on the phone past 9:30 p.m., she would have thought I had not been obeying her, or conducting myself as she would have expected.”

http://callahan.8k.com/pdf/jb_habeas_rule37/exh54_affidavit_jennifer_bearden.pdf

She had changed the time for her phone call, because she didn’t want to get in trouble at the time.

In the same affidavit she’s vague on times, not mentioning the time as 8 for when she first called. Instead she just says it was 9. Does that mean she called at 9 and not 8?

“I recall making a call to Damien’s house that night, May 5, 1993. I believe the call was made around 9:00 p.m. This was the night before the announcement of the killings of the three young boys. The first time I called I got a busy signal. The phone at Damien’s house did not have call-waiting. I called again and Damien’s grandmother answered. She told me that Damien was not home yet.

At some point later on I called again and I got Damien on the phone. I believe I stayed on the phone with him from about a half hour. My impression is that this call began at around 9:30 p.m. and ended around 10:00 p.m.”

Did this mean that she called an hour later like she said another statement?

Jennifer: He said him and Jason were going to go some where, him and Jason were going some where and that he um, wanted me to call him later at his house around 8 and I said okay

Ridge: Okay, and when you called back about 8

Jennifer: His Grandmother said he wasn’t there, and I was suppose to call back around 9. and I called back around 9:20, 9:30 and I talk to him for a little bit, but then I had to get off the phone, because I wasn’t suppose to be on the phone after 9:30.

How would Heather know that Holli had 3 way calling, if she had never been on the phone with her like Jennifer Bearden says?

http://callahan.8k.com/images/bearden/bearden02.jpg

Meaning if she called back an hour later, like in her previous statements it could very well mean that she talked to him at 10 or 10:30 since she shifted her time around? Previously she said she called at 8 and then called back at as late as 9:30.

In her testimony during Jason’s Rule 37 hearing, Jennifer would go back to claiming that she called around 8, only this time changing it to 8:30 and being told to call back an hour later.

A] Yes, I tried to call later that evening, uh, it was probably around 8:30, uh, it was busy.

Q] At Damien’s house?

A] Yes.

Q] Okay. So then what happens; did you get a busy signal, or what?

A] I then called back and spoke to his grandmother and she told me he wasn’t there.

Q] Okay. And what time do you remember that being?

A] It was before nine o’clock. She told me to call back around 9:00.

Q] Did you end up calling back?

A] Yes, but it was closer to 9:20 when I called back.

Q] All right. And were you able to get a hold of Damien then?

A] Yes.

Q] Did y’all talk?

A] Yes.

Q] Do you remember how long then — and, and is this a three-way or is this is just direct between you and Damien?

A] No, this is just Damien and I.

Q] Uh, do you remember how long y’all talked?

A] Uh, we spoke until ten o’clock.

Q] Until 10:00 p.m.?

A] Yes.

Further during the hearing she’d again try to insist that Holly and Heather would never be on the phone together.

A] Heather Cliett, uh, she was, uh, lived in West Memphis, uh, she was intersted in Jason during that time we were friends.

Q] And was Heather also involved in some of the phone calls, in the three-way phone calls?

A] Uh, no, I believe I spoke with Heather myself, you know, on a three-way call. But she was never on the phone with Holly and I. Holly and Heather did not get along.

Q] Holly and Heather didn’t get along, but Heather and you were good friends?

A] Yes.

She also mentioned in cross-examination that they all talked to each other by phone on a nearly daily basis. It was then possible that Jennifer may simply have been remembering the wrong day, when she was interviewed.

Q] Okay. And how is it that you remember that you made those particular calls on the night of the murder?

A] It was a very traumatic experience around that whole time. I mean, I remember a lot about that time.

Q] Okay. But you never, I assume that you, the next night or the next night that you talked on the phone with Jason and Damien; that relationship continued, didn’t it?

A] Yes.

Q] And when did it end?

A] When they were arrested.

Q] Okay. So it continued for, I guess, daily calls for another month?

A] Yes.

Q] Every day?

A] Yes.

Q] And so that’s how you remember that you made those particular calls in that time?

A] Yes.

In essence there was nothing special about that night for her to remember it in-particularly. Damien and Jason didn’t become suspects until some time later, and weren’t arrested until a month later. May 5th, was also not the last time that she had spoken with them over the phone. They had talked non-stop for the rest of May and right up till their arrest early the next month.

Another point which came out later, which strengthens Heather’s version is that Jennifer and Damien were attempting to date at the time of the murders. She stated that Holly was helping them get together, yet Holly and Jennifer denied to the police that she was interested in being Damien’s girlfriend.

From Holly’s first interview:

RIDGE: OKAY, UH, WHERE, WHAT IS JENNIFER’S REASON’S FOR WANTING TO CALL AND TALK WITH DAMIEN?

HOLLY: THEY’RE JUST FRIENDS

RIDGE: JUST FRIENDS, WERE THEY TRYING TO GO OUT OR ANYTHING LIKE THAT?

HOLLY: NO

RIDGE: GETTING CLOSE, OKAY, DO YOU KNOW IF DAMIEN HAS ANY GIRL FRIENDS OR NOT?

HOLLY: OTHER THAN DOMINI, NO

RIDGE: YOU KNEW ABOUT DOMINI?

HOLLY: I DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT HER UNTIL LIKE EVERBODY SAID SHE WAS PREGNANT WITH HIS CHILD AND STUFF

RIDGE: OKAY

HOLLY: AND STUFF

From Jennifer’s first interview:

Ridge: Do you ever meet Domini?

Jennifer: Once.

Ridge: What do you think about her?

Jennifer: I just really didn’t like her, I mean she was really cold.

Ridge: Were you and Damien like boyfriend, girlfriend, or just getting to know each other.

Jennifer: Un un (No) I was going out with Terry, I was going out with Terry.

Ridge: Okday, so you and Damien were just starting to know each other?

Jennifer: Yea, we were like really good friends.

Both girls denied that Jennier was interested in Damien.

But in her Rule 37 testimony she admitted to being in sort of second girlfriend to Damien.

Q] Okay. Now let’s see. Uh, Now your birthday is July, 24th, 1980?

A] Yes.

Q] Okay. So when you were making these calls and having these three-way conversations in sort of a boyfriend/girlfriend situation with Damien and Jason, uh, you were what — twelve years old?

A] Yes.

Q] Okay. And I believe you did say your mother, your parents weren’t aware that you were doing this?

A] No.

Q] Okay. So they weren’t aware and you didn’t tell them, did you?

A] NO.

Q] When did you tell them?

A] When the police asked to speak to us.

Q] Okay. Not when the boys were arrested?

A] No.

But what did Bearden say back in 1993?

Ridge: Do you ever meet Domini?

Jennifer: Once.

Ridge: What do you think about her?

Jennifer: I just really didn’t like her, I mean she was really cold.

Ridge: Were you and Damien like boyfriend, girlfriend, or just getting to know each other.

Jennifer: Un un (No) I was going out with Terry, I was going out with Terry.

Ridge: Okday, so you and Damien were just starting to know each other?

Jennifer: Yea, we were like really good friends.

What did Holly George say?

RIDGE: OKAY, UH, WHERE, WHAT IS JENNIFER’S REASON’S FOR WANTING TO CALL AND TALK WITH DAMIEN?

HOLLY: THEY’RE JUST FRIENDS

RIDGE: JUST FRIENDS, WERE THEY TRYING TO GO OUT OR ANYTHING LIKE THAT?

HOLLY: NO

RIDGE: GETTING CLOSE, OKAY, DO YOU KNOW IF DAMIEN HAS ANY GIRL FRIENDS OR NOT?

HOLLY: OTHER THAN DOMINI, NO

RIDGE: YOU KNEW ABOUT DOMINI?

HOLLY: I DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT HER UNTIL LIKE EVERBODY SAID SHE WAS PREGNANT WITH HIS CHILD AND STUFF

RIDGE: OKAY

HOLLY: AND STUFF

Both Holly and Jennifer lied about Jennifer and Damien wanting to date. And Jennifer lied about the time she alleged that she spoke to Damien, and one could assume that since she was Damien’s friend and a potential girlfriend, there would be a strong motivating factor for her to want to alibi Damien. This also gave her motive to try and discredit Heather, by saying she wasn’t friends with Holly, which isn’t true.

Heather was able to establish that she spoke to Holly about how Jennifer and Damien were trying to get together. Would someone who wasn’t friends with her know that?

“The next day Hollie told me that “Damien” said he had just been out walking around. She also told me that “Damien” & her were talking about, & trying to get him & Jennifer together.” 

http://callahan.8k.com/wm3/img/hcstatement.html

Holly also had Heather’s phone number, meaning they clearly would have talked over the phone.

RIDGE: DO YOU KNOW WHAT HEATHER’S PHONE NUMBER IS?

HOLLY: YEA, I THINK IT’S UPSTAIRS IN MY BEDROOM BUT I DON’T KNOW IT

RIDGE: YOU DO HAVE IT WRITTEN DOWN SOMEEWHERE? WHERE DID YOU MEET HEATHER?

HOLLY: SKATING RINK

http://callahan.8k.com/wm3/hollyg1.html

But Holly says, that Jennifer told her that she, and she alone spoke to Damien that night…

RIDGE: SINCE THAT TIME HAVE YOU FOUND OUT ANYBODY ELSE THAT TALKED TO DAMIEN ON THE TELEPHONE THAT DAY?

HOLLY: NO, BESIDES JENNIFER BEARDEN AND

RIDGE: SHE HAD TOLD YOU SHE CALLED HIM AFTER

HOLLY: AFTER I HAD TALKED TO HIM AND HER EARLIER

RIDGE: OK DO YOU KNOW WHEN SHE CALLED HIM?

HOLLY: LIKE RIGHT AFTER I GOT OFF THE PHONE WITH HER AND THEY TALKED FOR A WHILE AND THEN THEY HANG UP (ILLEGIBLE) JENNIFER HAD TO GET OFF THE PHONE AND THEN SHE CALLED BACK LIKE AT 9 O’CLOCK OR SO

RIDGE: SHE CALLED BACK AT ABOUT 9?

HOLLY: (INAUDIBLE)

RIDGE: DID SHE TELL YOU WHAT THEY TALKED ABOUT?

HOLLY: UN UN (NO)

RIDGE: OKAY, DID SHE SAY THAT SHE HAD TRIED TO CALL HIM THAT EVENING AND COULDN’T GET HIM?

HOLLY: SHE SAID SHE TRIED ONCE COULDN’T GET A HOLD OF HIM BECAUSE NOBODY ANSWERED

RIDGE: ABOUT WHAT TIME WAS THAT DO YOU KNOW?

HOLLY: UN UN (NO) I FORGOT

RIDGE: BUT SHE TOLD YOU ABOUT IT OKAY, UM, DO YOU REMEMBER TALKING WITH HEATHER CLIETT THAT DAY?

HOLLY: THAT DAY NO

RIDGE: YOU DIDN’T TALK WITH HER AT ALL?

HOLLY: (INAUDIBLE)

http://callahan.8k.com/wm3/hollyg2.html

Holly would state years later, that she no longer remembered the specifics of the night in question, just that she thought that she spoke with Jason and Damien that night.

“I remember that during the investigation of the West Memphis murder case, I was asked questions by police officers regarding my memory of phone calls that involved Damien and Jason.

I also have a memory of talking on the phone with Damien and Jason in May of 1993, and during the days surrounding the discovery of the bodies of the three young boys who were killed in West Memphis in May of 1993. I have no independent recollection of the exact time of specific phone calls or who may have initiated them.”

http://callahan.8k.com/pdf/jb_habeas_rule37/exh55_affidavit_holly_thorpe.pdf

The events of that night, really boil down to either believing Heather’s version of events or Jennifer’s version of events.

Heather’s account stands as the most credible and had been the first and freshest account of that day, and as such might have been the real version of that night, and not Jennifer and Holly’s account. Cliett gave her version of events in June, where as Holly and Jennifer didn’t give there’s to police until September.

The defense had even considered calling Bearden as a witness at trial, but had apparently decided against it as she never testified, most likely due to that her statement contradicted Heather’s account and the account of Jason’s uncle.

beardenbearden2

In notes from an interview with Heather, it would also state that she didn’t get a hold of Damien until about 10:30.

http://callahan.8k.com/images/heather_cliett/note_09-07-93_02.jpg

What does it all mean? Damien was unaccounted for until 10 or 10:30 that night.

Leave a Reply

